Recreational Marijuana: Legal vs. Illegal
Nevada implemented its Early Sales program allowing sales of recreational marijuana on July 1, 2017. Due to a lawsuit filed only weeks prior to Early Sales, there was no distribution of marijuana between a wholesale operation and a retail operation for the first two weeks of Early Sales. The State licensed distributors on or about July 13 and July 14, 2017, which allowed for distribution. The State also adopted emergency regulations to address what appears to be an insufficient number of alcohol distributors.
As sales go forward, BE SURE TO BE AWARE of Nevada’s basic marijuana laws and edible safety:
May possess up to 1 ounce of flower or 1/8th an ounce of concentrated marijuana at any given time.
Medical marijuana patients may possess 2.5 ounces, or 12 plants, every 14 days.
May possess a combination of both as long as within possession limit.
Nevada’s DUI laws are in full force and effect.
Do not consume in the vehicle.
Do not drive impaired.
Must be kept away from non-patients under 21 years of age.
Locking storage devices available in dispensaries.
No public consumption.
No consumption on gaming properties.
No consumption in vehicles.
Do not take marijuana to the airport.
Do not travel with marijuana across state lines.
Dispose of leftover marijuana before leaving the state.
Dispensaries may deliver to you, depending on your location.
Delivery can only be made to persons over 21 or medical marijuana patients.